Chandigarh wins Women’s T10 National Cricket Championship for the Deaf in Bengaluru

Chandigarh wins Women’s T10 National Cricket Championship for the Deaf in Bengaluru

BangaloreChandigarh has won the fourth T-10 National Deaf Cricket Championship-2023 of the Indian Deaf Cricket Association (IDCA) by defeating two-time winners Mumbai in the final. Batting first, Mumbai were all out for 73 runs in eight overs and Chandigarh chased down the target in 7.1 overs to win the match by 8 wickets.

Mumbai lose Needa Sheikh early. Needa was in excellent form, and her wicket was a crucial moment in the game. Fauzia and Neelam Kini shared a 46-run partnership together and Mumbai managed to score 73 runs. It was a challenging total and Chandigarh needed to bat well. Chandigarh lost an early wicket when the skipper was dismissed for 2 runs. But it was Neha’s unbeaten 56 off 23 balls that made the difference in the end.

He batted with ease. He single-handedly chased down the total and helped Chandigarh lift their maiden title. The closing ceremony was held at Samprasiddhi Sports Estadio and was presided over by former Indian women cricketer Mamta Maben.

Neha (Chandigarh) was awarded the ‘Player of the Match’ award and was also adjudged ‘Best Batswoman of the Series’. Dharya was declared the ‘Bowler of the Series’ and Needa Sheikh was awarded the ‘Player of the Series’. The awards were presented by Shamant SM, a cricketer from Bengaluru.

Congratulating the winners and all other players, former cricketer Mamta Maben said, “I would like to congratulate IDCA for providing the right platform to deaf women cricketers to showcase their talent and realize their long-held dreams. Grateful.” Mumbai reached the final without losing a game in the league stage. Chandigarh defeated unbeaten Delhi in the semi-finals.

Source link