Pakistan Election 2024: Imran Khan claims two-thirds majority, says, “Dear Pakistanis, you laid the foundation of independence by voting – Dainik Savera Times

Pakistan Election 2024: Imran Khan claims two-thirds majority, says, “Dear Pakistanis, you laid the foundation of independence by voting – Dainik Savera Times

Islamabad: Islamabad Claiming a two-thirds majority in Pakistan’s general elections, PTI founder Imran Khan, currently lodged in Adiala jail, delivered an AI-generated “victory” speech. On X, the former Prime Minister said: “Dear Pakistanis. By voting you have laid the foundation of freedom. I congratulate all of you for winning the 2024 elections. The London plan has been foiled. Before the rigging, we were winning more than 150 National Assembly seats. Now, as per Exhibit 45, we are winning more than 170 seats. “Nobody will believe Nawaz Sharif who gave a winning speech despite trailing by 30 seats. International media is also writing on this issue.

In fact, no party has emerged as a clear winner in the divisive elections in Pakistan as the vote counting process nears completion, indicating that political stability may still be a distant dream for the cash-strapped country. Is. The general elections were held on Thursday and counting began immediately after voting ended at 5 pm with the hope that a majority on 265 seats would be achieved by Friday morning.

Counting completed on 250 seats

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan, till now, counting has been completed on 250 seats of the National Assembly and independent candidates, most of whom are supported by jailed former Prime Minister Imran Khan’s Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). The party was on top with 99 seats. After this group, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) got 71 seats, Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) got 53 seats, Muttahida Qaumi Movement got 17 seats and other seats were given to smaller parties.

Although elected with the support of Khan’s party, independents can join any party, which is a potential source of instability, as they may also switch allegiances in the future. PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif announced on Friday evening that he was starting consultations to form some kind of unity government, but it could take days for the future to emerge.

PPP wants to make Bilawal Bhutto Zardari the PM

Former President Asif Ali Zardari’s PPP had already announced during the elections that his young son and party chief Bilawal Bhutto Zardari would be the prime ministerial candidate, while Sharif is seeking to become prime minister for a record fourth time. The PTI leadership is going to launch internal consultations to decide which party its supported elected representative should join. They may join a smaller party that will become the largest party to counter Sharif’s claim that PML-N is the largest party and has the right to form the government.

Nawaz Sharif claimed victory

Former Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif claimed victory in the national elections. Sharif said his representatives would meet other political parties to talk about forming a coalition government. PMLN leader and Sharif’s daughter Maryam Nawaz said on ‘X’ Thursday night that contrary to the misconception deliberately created by a section of the media, the PML-N is emerging as the largest party at the Center and in Punjab. He said, some results are yet to come.

Nawaz Sharif won from Lahore seat, Bilawal Bhutto lost.

Those who won included top PML-N leaders, including former prime minister Nawaz Sharif. Nawaz Sharif has defeated PTI-backed independent Dr Yasmin Rashid by a huge margin. Nawaz got 171,024 votes, while Rashid got 115,043 votes. Apart from Nawaz Sharif’s son Hamza Shehbaz and daughter Maryam Nawaz, younger brother and former Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif also won the election. All four members of the Sharif family have won from the party’s stronghold Lahore. PTI party leader Gauhar Ali Khan won the NA-10 seat in Buner region of Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa with 110,023 votes. PTI leader and former National Assembly speaker Asad Qaiser has also won. In a major upset, PPP leader Bilawal Bhutto Zardari suffered defeat in the elections.

Source link