Asia Cup Final: Rohit Sharma can equal MS Dhoni’s big record, Sachin will be left behind

Asia Cup Final: Rohit Sharma can equal MS Dhoni’s big record, Sachin will be left behind

team india Against Sri Lanka at R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo asia cup 2023 Is playing the final match. India is a seven-time Asia Cup champion and Sri Lanka has won the title five times. India is facing Sri Lanka in search of its eighth Asia Cup title. Defending champion Sri Lanka will try to defend its title. India is playing its 10th final in all formats in the Asia Cup.

India and Sri Lanka have clashed four times in the finals

India has faced Sri Lanka in the finals seven times and India has won four times in seven matches in the Asia Cup finals. Of the three defeats between India vs Sri Lanka, two have come in Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka is playing its 12th Asia Cup final in all formats. In the 14 Asia Cup finals since 1988, teams that have chased the target eight times have won the trophy in all formats.

India had lost to Bangladesh

In the last Super 4 match against Bangladesh, India failed to chase the target of 266 runs. But India managed to derail Sri Lanka’s 13-match winning streak in its Super 4 game. India has registered 97 wins against Sri Lanka which is the most wins by any team against any opponent in ODIs.

Rohit Sharma can make this record

All eyes will be on Indian captain Rohit Sharma, who will have an eye on important achievements and records in the match.

  • Rohit Sharma will play his 250th ODI match in the Asia Cup 2023 final against Sri Lanka. Rohit Sharma will become the 9th Indian player to play 250 ODI matches.

  • Rohit Sharma will captain India in the final of any tournament for the second time in ODI. The second opportunity was also Asia Cup. India won the Asia Cup in 2018 under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.

  • The defeat against Bangladesh in the last match was Rohit Sharma’s first defeat in the Asia Cup (ODI) as captain.

  • Rohit Sharma (939 runs) is aiming to become the first Indian batsman to score 1000 runs in Asia Cup (ODI) as he is 61 runs away from doing so.

  • Rohit Sharma is 33 runs away from becoming India’s highest run-scorer in the Asia Cup (ODI). Among any Indian, Sachin Tendulkar is at the top with 971 runs.

  • Rohit Sharma can become the third Indian captain to lift the Asia Cup trophy twice in all formats. Before him, MS Dhoni (2012 and 2016) and Mohammad Azharuddin (1991 and 1995) had won the Asia Cup twice as captain.

  • Rohit Sharma has dominated Sri Lanka as an opener in ODIs. He has the highest average (73.6) among openers against Sri Lanka in ODIs (minimum: 500 runs).

  • Rohit Sharma has scored 1000+ runs as an opening batsman in ODI against Sri Lanka with a strike rate of 100+. Apart from this, his highest score of 264 runs is against Sri Lanka which is also the highest score of any batsman in ODI.

Rohit Sharma completes 10000 ODI runs

Captain Rohit Sharma completed his 10,000 runs in ODIs in this season of Asia Cup. He achieved this feat against Sri Lanka on Tuesday. Rohit became the sixth batsman from India and 15th overall to do so. The Indian captain achieved this feat by hitting a six off Sri Lanka’s Kasun Rajitha in the seventh over of the innings. A day before this, Virat Kohli became the fastest batsman to cross the 13,000-run mark in a record 267 ODI innings.

Second batsman to score fastest 10 thousand runs

Rohit Sharma completed his 10,000 runs in 241 innings, which is the second fastest 10,000 runs after Kohli’s 205 innings. Other Indians in the 10,000-run club are Sachin Tendulkar (18,426 runs), Virat Kohli (13,026), Sourav Ganguly (11,363), Rahul Dravid (10,889) and MS Dhoni (10,773).

Rohit has scored 30 ODI centuries so far

Rohit Sharma scored his first ODI double century against Australia in November 2013 when he scored 209 runs. Four years later, he scored another double century, scoring 208 not out against Sri Lanka in Mohali in December 2017. With 30 centuries so far, Rohit is jointly ranked third with former Australia captain Ricky Ponting in terms of most ODI centuries. In this case, Sachin Tendulkar is at first place with 49 centuries and Virat Kohli is at second place with 47 centuries.

Source link