Shehbaz Sharif took oath as the 24th PM of Pakistan

Shehbaz Sharif took oath as the 24th PM of Pakistan

Islamabad: Former Prime Minister Shahbaz Sharif was sworn in as the 24th elected Prime Minister of Pakistan during a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Monday afternoon. This information was given in a statement issued by the Prime Minister’s Office.
President Arif Alvi administered the oath of office to the newly elected Prime Minister at the ceremony. The ceremony was attended by outgoing caretaker Prime Minister Anwar-ul-Haq Kakkar, Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani, army chiefs, politicians and ambassadors.

Earlier on Sunday, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz President Mr. Sharif got 201 votes against 92 in the 336-member National Assembly or the lower house of Parliament during the election for this post. Sharif came to power when his party formed an alliance with lawmakers from the Pakistan Peoples Party, Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan and others and nominated him as its candidate for the post of chief executive of the country.

In his first address to the National Assembly after being elected prime minister on Sunday, Mr Sharif said he would focus on economic reforms to develop the country, including reforming the taxation system and setting up free trade zones and export zones. The Prime Minister said his government will expand and promote the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor for the country’s development.

The post Shehbaz Sharif takes oath as the 24th PM of Pakistan appeared first on Dainik Savera Times | Hindi News Portal.

Source link