Who is the next Prime Minister of Pakistan? Discussion on 3-2 formula between Nawaz Sharif and Bilawal Bhutto

Who is the next Prime Minister of Pakistan?  Discussion on 3-2 formula between Nawaz Sharif and Bilawal Bhutto

Efforts to form a coalition government intensified on Monday after Pakistan received a fractured mandate in the parliamentary elections. Under this, the top leaders of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Pakistan Peoples Party discussed the new power sharing formula to divide the five-year term.

Independent candidates supported by Imran Khan won the maximum number of seats.

Despite independent candidates supported by jailed former Prime Minister Imran Khan’s Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) winning the most seats in Parliament, questions remain about the picture of Pakistan’s next government.

No party got majority

None of the three major parties, PML-N, PPP and PTI, have got the required number of seats to gain majority in the 266-member National Assembly and hence will not be able to form the government on their own. Therefore, it is not yet clear who will be the next Prime Minister of the country which is facing cash crunch.

Government can be formed in Pakistan on 3-2 formula

PML-N and PPP leaders discussed the idea of ​​appointing a prime minister for a half-term in their first meeting after the February 8 elections as part of their efforts to form a coalition government at the Center and provinces. According to sources, it has been proposed that a candidate from PML-N will remain the Prime Minister for three years and the leader of PPP will remain in this post for two years. He said that it has not been decided yet who will get the first term. PPP Parliamentary Speaker Asif Ali Zardari, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and former Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif from PML-N attended the meeting.

The same formula of power sharing was adopted in Balochistan in 2013.

PML-N and National Party had adopted the same formula of power sharing in Balochistan in 2013. Despite PML-N not securing a simple majority in the general elections held on February 8 in Pakistan, its president Nawaz Sharif is still in the race for the post of Prime Minister.

Candidates supported by Imran Khan’s party won 101 seats.

The Election Commission of Pakistan on Sunday declared the final results of the general elections, in which independent candidates supported by the party of jailed former Prime Minister Imran Khan have won 101 seats. At the same time, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) of three-time former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has technically emerged as the largest party in the Parliament by winning 75 seats. Bilawal Zardari Bhutto’s Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) got 54 seats, while the Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P), the group of Urdu-speaking people who came from India during partition, got 17 seats. Other small parties won the remaining 12 seats.

What is the equation for forming government in Pakistan?

To form the government, a party will need the support of 133 members elected through direct voting. Overall, 169 seats out of 336 are required to achieve a simple majority, which also includes seats reserved for women and minorities.

Source link